How do I delete an item from the chart of accounts?

If you need to remove an item from your chart of accounts, you have two options.

If the account has no transactions tied to it, you can delete the account right away.

If the account has been used to help categorize financial transactions, you will need to move the transactions to a different account type before you can delete anything.

Click here to learn how to move financial transactions on your chart of accounts in bulk.

Delete an account on your chart of accounts

  1. Navigate to Accounting > Chart of accounts. A list of common accounts already available is displayed.
  2. The small box with an arrow to the far right of each account name is called a quick menu - click the quick menu next to the account you want to remove, and then click Delete account.

    Some accounts on your chart of accounts are used by Buildium as default accounts for certain functions. These accounts cannot be deleted and can only be renamed.

  3. If the account is unused, you'll see a window that asks if you're sure you want to proceed. Select the check box to confirm the deletion, and click Delete at the top of the window.

    Another confirmation pop-up window appears, prompting you to delete the account. Click OK to delete the account.

 

Still have questions?

Create a support ticket anytime, and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Submit a support ticket